Our Wines

Diversity of Gaillac
Wine bring home to
your aperetifs and
diners with friends all
the usability of Southwest.

Learn more

Our winemakers

Discover our vineyards,
our winemakers, and
and locate them
on the map !

Show map
Home>Vineyard>Location and Climate

Location and Climate


Located in Southwest France, in the heart of the Midi-Pyrénées region, Gaillac belongs to a long line of “Southwest France Wines”, which brings together 17 AOC wines and 12 PGI (protected geographical indication) wines. Among the wine regions of Bordeaux and Languedoc-Roussillon, Aquitaine and Midi-Pyrénées regions were able to carry on their wine-growing vocation. Today, the Southwest wine-growing region stretches across 500 kilometres between Aveyron and French Basque Country.

The Gaillac wine-growing region is located 50 km east of Toulouse in the northern part of the Tarn region. From the east of the town of Albi, in the area of Cunac, to the city of Saint-Sulpice, the vines run along two banks of the Tarn River. In the north, vineyards start a few kilometres above the medieval city of Cordes-sur-Ciel and then dive 40 kilometres south to Graulhet.

The area of Gaillac is located in a contrary climate zone. The heat from the Mediterranean combined with the ocean humidity of Bordeaux provides the perfect weather conditions for winegrowing. However here, winegrowers will certainly mention the added bonus: winds of Autan, which help to create fine wines. This warm dry wind coming from the warm regions of East Central Africa is an important key element for the vines.
Nouveau lien


Sud ouest, les vins a decouvrir

Warning

According to the legislation in force in the country of residence, only people old enough to drink alcohol can enter this website.

I certify that I am of legal age

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. Consume with moderation.

Nos vins

La diversité des vins
de Gaillac amènera
à vos apéritifs et repas entre
amis toute la convivialité du
Sud-Ouest.

En savoir plus

Nos vignerons

Découvrez notre
vignoble, nos
vignerons, et
localisez-les sur la
carte !

Voir la carte
Accueil>Vignoble>Situation et Climat

Situation et Climat


Situé dans le Sud-Ouest de la France, au cœur de la région Midi Pyrénées, Gaillac fait partie de la grande famille des « Vins du Sud-Ouest » qui regroupe 17 AOC et 12 IGP. En effet, entre les vignobles de Bordeaux et du Languedoc-Roussillon, les régions Aquitaine et Midi-Pyrénées ont su perpétuer leur vocation vinicole. Aujourd’hui, le vignoble du Sud-Ouest s’étend sur 500 kilomètres entre l’Aveyron et le Pays Basque.

Le vignoble de Gaillac se trouve à 50 km à l’est de Toulouse dans le nord du département du Tarn. De l’est d’Albi, dans la zone de Cunac, jusqu’à Saint Sulpice, les vignes courent le long des deux rives du Tarn. Au nord, le vignoble commence quelques kilomètres au-dessus de la cité médiévale de Cordes-sur-Ciel et plonge vers le sud sur 40 kilomètres jusqu’à Graulhet.

Le gaillacois se situe dans une zone conflictuelle d’influences climatiques. La chaleur méditerranéenne, associée à l’humidité océanique bordelaise, offre au vignoble des conditions idéales. Mais ici, les vignerons vous parleront certainement de ce petit plus qui fait naitre les grands vins : l’Autan. Ce vent chaud et asséchant venant des régions chaudes d’Afrique centrale est, pour la vigne, un allié de taille.


Sud ouest, les vins a decouvrir

Attention

En fonction de la législation en vigueur dans le pays de résidence, ce site n'est accessible qu'aux seules personnes ayant l'âge légal pour consommer de l'alcool.

Je certifie avoir l'âge légal

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. Consommez avec modération.